Less Planning, More God

I’m still in the process of reading Jeremiah, and still enjoying it very much.  I really like the Old Testament prophets like Isaiah and Jeremiah.  As I was reading I stumbled upon Jeremiah 29:11.  I totally didn’t remember or realize that I would read verse 11 when I turned to chapter 29!  So as I’m reading, that famous verse, verse 11, blindsided me.  I was really taken with the context of Jeremiah 29, and what it was saying. Let’s take a look:

Jeremiah 29:10-14  “This is what the Lord says: “You will be in Babylon for seventy years. But then I will come and do for you all the good things I have promised, and I will bring you home again.  For I know the plans I have for you,” says the Lord. “They are plans for good and not for disaster, to give you a future and a hope.  In those days when you pray, I will listen.  If you look for me wholeheartedly, you will find me.  I will be found by you,” says the Lord. “I will end your captivity and restore your fortunes. I will gather you out of the nations where I sent you and will bring you home again to your own land.”

God is saying:  Look.  You’re going to be in captivity in Babylon.  You can’t avoid it.  But I’m going to set you free again because I’ve got plans for your life.  When you look for Me, you’ll find me.  I will set you free, and bring you all back together.

This isn’t about the plan!  It’s so much more than the plan.  Yes, God does have plans for our lives, amazing, super, blessing-filled plans.  For everyone.  BUT this is about our relationship with God, with our Source.  It is about being free, coming home, celebrating, being safe, being heard.  It’s about us letting God be a part of our lives, a major part.  About discovering those plans He has for our lives and living them out together throughout our lives, bringing freedom to the world, sharing wealth of all kinds with everyone, feeling at home and finding God.

Can I let you in on a secret?  I think life isn’t about living life, it’s about knowing God.  If we are living our lives in balance and in accordance with our passions, purposes, the relating plans God has for us, we will always get closer to finding God.   We will be doing things and living in ways that will help us grow, get through the challenges and ultimately we will be finding God through how we live our lives.  Think less about the plan and more about the One behind the plan.

Are you taking time to meditate, read inspirational books or blogs, and connect with God daily, as well as truly living your purpose?

Leave a Reply

