Heaven on earth

This week in my readings I was enjoying the book of Acts in the Bible.  One of the things that caught my attention was the reference of a passage from the book of Isaiah. It reads:

“This is what the Lord says: “Heaven is my throne, and the earth is my footstool. Could you build me a temple as good as that? Could you build me such a resting place? My hands have made both heaven and earth; they and everything in them are mine.”  I, the Lord, have spoken!  “I will bless those who have humble and contrite hearts, who tremble at my word.”” (Isaiah 66:1-2)

There are two things I want to discuss today.  First, early in this passage we see God’s delight in heaven and earth.  God is clear that He is proud of what he has created!  He wouldn’t change the earth for anything!  It says “Could you build me a temple as good as that?”  God knows that his design and construction is far superior to anything we humans could create.  It also puts emphasis on the beauty of creation.  It says that God is happy to rest His feet here, so shouldn’t we be?  Shouldn’t we spend time enjoying God’s creation as much as He does?

Second, the theme God has had me exploring this year is humility.  It’s been an amazing year so far and God has continued to point out passages, books and teachings on humility for me to learn from.  While I won’t go into an extended conversation on being humble, I will tie it in to my first point.  Here humility has to do with respect.  If as God’s people we don’t respect the earth He has created, not only can we not get God’s blessing He offers us here, but we will hurt ourselves.  God created the earth to support, nourish and meet our needs, yet as we cut down more and more trees, don’t recycle and use more  [dangerous] chemicals, not only are we hurting the earth, we’re hurting ourselves and our future.  When we start respecting the earth, and treating it like the precious thing it is, we will see God’s abundant blessings ever so evident in our lives and around the world.

I encourage you to spend time with God outside, either meditating, doing devotions, reading your Bible or walking.  After you do, I encourage you to share your experience here, encouraging others with your experiences and discoveries.

One thought on “Heaven on earth

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Heaven on earth « Laura Dickey -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

