Goodbye 2010, Hello 2011

As we’re entering this new year in just a few hours, I thought it appropriate to talk about moving forward with life.

What does I mean by moving forward with life?  I mean looking at 2010 and all of your past years, remembering the memories, and learning lessons.  I mean keeping memories that are important to you and leaving scars behind.  I mean making relationship decisions about who is healthy for you and who you should spend less time with.  I mean making sometimes difficult decisions about what is really best for you, and making the changes necessary in 2011.

That being said, the first thing to do is sit down and consider where you are vs where you want to be.  Once you’ve established not only your life goals, but the parts of your past that should and shouldn’t continue to travel with you, you can move to the next step in the journey.

There are many ways to move forward towards your life goals.  Electronically, you should subscribe to and unsubscribe from newsletters that are or aren’t of interest to you.  You should be reading weekly, if not daily, and should determine which books will help you achieve your goals.  Consider your friendships, starting new ones, working on old ones, and letting go of those who aren’t right for you.   Also think about getting or starting a new job, one that will be in line with your purpose or life goals (or just make you less stressed out).  Don’t forget about your family and take steps to either reconcile, rebuild or forgive relationships.

Yes you will feel fear, yes there will be struggles, but trust me if you begin making the decisions now that are for your best (and take action towards them), your future will be much brighter and better than if you don’t.

Share your 2011 goals and thoughts below.

4 thoughts on “Goodbye 2010, Hello 2011

  1. Once again, as my mother used to say, you hit the nail on the head. Thanks for sharing. I am doing some spirtual inventory. I am truly praying that God will bless me with a job that lines up with my passion. Happy New Year! I am so inspired by your posts. Keep them coming…

Leave a Reply

