The Words We Speak

As I was looking for some inspirational thoughts from the Bible to share with you on our first of two posts this week about words and communication, I stumbled upon these verses in Revelation:

Revelation 2:1 “To the angel of the church in Ephesus write: These are the words of him who holds the seven stars in his right hand and walks among the seven golden lampstands.”

Revelation 2:8 “To the angel of the church in Smyrna write: These are the words of him who is the First and the Last, who died and came to life again.”

Revelation 2:12 “To the angel of the church in Pergamum write: These are the words of him who has the sharp, double-edged sword.”

Revelation 2:18 “To the angel of the church in Thyatira write: These are the words of the Son of God, whose eyes are like blazing fire and whose feet are like burnished bronze.”

Revelation 3:1 “To the angel of the church in Sardis write: These are the words of him who holds the seven spirits of God and the seven stars.”

Revelation 3:7 “To the angel of the church in Philadelphia write: These are the words of him who is holy and true, who holds the key of David. What he opens no one can shut, and what he shuts no one can open.”

Revelation 3:14 “To the angel of the church in Laodicea write: These are the words of the Amen, the faithful and true witness, the ruler of God’s creation.”

Reading these descriptions about Jesus I was humbled.  I know my words don’t always stack me up against these descriptions of Jesus.  Jesus’ words are powerful, but so are yours and mine.  Ours have the ability to help or hurt, love or wound, break or build. Our words share a lot about who we are.  Jesus always took the time to listen and care for others with his words.  Jesus also was the perfect example of someone who always used his words to help, love and build. I know I’m not the First and the Last, the Amen or He who is holy and true.  However, I am a child of God made in His image.  Because I’m made to be like Him, my words should be like His.  This week not only will I strive to use words that would be honoring of my blessing to be a child of God, but also I will do my best to remember the power behind each word I speak (I challenge you to do this too!). The great thing about words is that they can be used to ask for forgiveness when they’re used in error or ill-use of power 🙂

How about you?  What lessons have words taught you?  Share your thoughts below.

Leave a Reply

