Lessons from God

Good morning!  How are you this morning?  What is good about this morning for you?  Each morning I get a verse delivered to my inbox.  Some mornings it’s a verse of encouragement, some days I’m reminded of the greatness of God, and other days I’m reminded that I’m not perfect yet.  Recently one of the verses that arrived was Isaiah 50:4:

“He wakens me morning by morning, wakens my ear to listen like one being taught.”

It’s not often that I have the opportunity to let God wake me up, often I have to get up at a set time for one reason or another and can’t just let God wake me up.  But even on mornings when I have to get up for something specific, I can look out the window next to my bed and see the beautiful trees, gorgeous sky and hear the happy birds living the lives that God has given them.

The more aware of what goes on around us we are, the more likely it is that we will hear from God.  If we’re constantly listening to music on iPods and smart phones, we don’t have the opportunity to hear what God is telling us and what goes on around us.  I cringe every time I see someone riding their bike with headphones on, because I know that they’re at risk for missing out on a car behind them or other danger.

It’s like this for us too if we live our lives not listening to God and hearing the messages He has left all around us.  God has left little reminders, little lessons for us thorughout the day.  Often we see the lesson as a problem and not a gift from God.  What if the next time your kids scream in the supermarket you realize it’s a lesson from God?  What if when you lose your job you see it not as the worst thing that ever happened but an opportunity to pursue the path that God wants you to travel?

What is God teaching you today?  I’d love to hear about the lessons He’s putting in your life, share them below.

Leave a Reply

