Being Friends with You

If I’ve learned anything over the years, it’s that I must like, and maybe even love, myself before I can like or love anyone.  One of the hardest aspects to love or even like about yourself is your body.  What can you do to be in better harmony with your body?

Feed it right:
Not only should you feed it what it craves, you should feed it good food so it craves good food.  Some people crave chocolate bars, while others crave watermelon.  Do I believe you should only eat healthy 100% of the time? No, I don’t think that’s practical.  I believe in everything in moderation, but the more good food you eat, the better.

Exercise it right:
Make sure to exercise every day.  Maybe your body asks for a massage.  Maybe it asks for yoga. Maybe it asks for biking.  Whatever mode your body is in, do something each day that will help the circulation keep flowing and body release the tension.

Treat it right:
Don’t push it to extremes all the time, rest, take naps, take days off, dream, imagine, plan, educate yourself.  Your body can only help you so long as you help it.  Open yourself to new opportunities, things that will stretch your mind, body and create some amazing memories.

Love it:
When it all comes down to it, the truth is the more you say kind things to and about your body, the more you will be ok with the body you have.  Should you be 100 pounds overweight?  No, that’s not healthy.  But berating yourself day in and day out is almost worse than eating that extra cookie.

My first step towards loving me was making better decisions about what I eat.  What will yours be?  I’d love to hear your thoughts below.

Leave a Reply

