Love and Kindness

Psalm 103:2
“My soul, praise the Lord and never forget how kind he is!”

This month we’ve been talking about what it means to be kind and thankful, and next month we’re going to be talking about love.  I’m always excited when I see people doing things that are kind and loving or people who are thankful for what they have in their lives.  It warms my heart to know that there are people who do make a difference by little gestures of love and kindness.  Every act of love or kindness comes back to one individual though, God. He’s the perfect example of what it means to be loving and kind.

I know we’re in this world with challenges and a devil who tries to wreck our lives, homes, marriages, families, careers and countries, and that there are many reasons to be unhappy and dissatisfied with life, many reasons to be depressed or figure life is just a wash or a waste.

But what I’ve been noticing, especially this past month, is that the more time we spend praising God, appreciating each other, worshiping God, and focusing on making a difference in someone else’s life, the better life seems no matter how challenging life gets.  Personally, it has been a very busy month for me (not my best as far as being a good friend goes), yet I spent a lot of time listening to uplifting music (and some Christmas too!) and focused on sharing thanks and kindness, and I’ve felt surprisingly positive all month long.

I think what the Psalmists knew was that the more time we spend praising God and being supportive of each other, the more we’ll feel good ourselves! So this holiday season, don’t get dragged down by miserable people, stay cheerful by praising God and spread some of your joy to someone else.

Leave a Reply

