Trees for the Future

“The true meaning of life is to plant trees, under whose shade you do not expect to sit.”
Nelson Henderson

I love this quote from Nelson Henderson.  I’m so inspired by his wisdom towards life.  So much of life is doing things that you probably will never see the impact of.  You most likely won’t see the results of the green movement, the over deforestation, increase of small businesses, change in world leaders and governments or impact that your words (written and spoken) will have on future generations.

We just celebrated Thanksgiving here in the USA, a day when we remember those who came before us to settle this “new world” and start life over.  The pilgrims and settlers who came to the colonies years ago didn’t imagine we would be sitting talking to each other over the computer, talking about things like AIDS or be one of the wealthiest countries in the world.  They just knew they wanted something different and didn’t think about the “seeds” they were planting.

We’ve tried to become more conscious over the years of what kind of impact we have on our present and future lives (I try to recycle everything I can, support earth-friendly companies and make smarter decisions about what I eat).  Why?  Because I want my great-great-great grandchildren to have a place they can call home and not curse me for the choices I made.

Life is a journey we’re all a part of, and the choices we make on our journey impact everyone else.  I don’t know about you, but I would much rather plant trees than make garbage dumps.

What are you doing to impact the future?

Leave a Reply

