Complete Faith

“You see, his faith and his actions worked together. His actions made his faith complete.”  James 2:22

What I’ve really learned over the last year of my life and through this month’s study on faith is that faith and hope are important, but they’re only completed through action.  I can have all the hope in the world that my business will work, but if I don’t take some actions, it will definitely fail.  I can have hope that my car will start each day, but unless I put the key in, I won’t know.  I can have faith that I’ve got the right friendships but unless I’m making an effort in those relationships I won’t have them for very long.

It’s not that I don’t have faith that things can happen all by themselves, it’s that I’ve learned that faith is supported and made complete by my actions.  In some cases hope or faith is realized because I took action.

It’s not enough for us to have hope or faith that the economy or climate will improve, it’s up to us to start taking actions that will help things change.

What actions have you been neglecting waiting for your hope or faith to work?  What could you do today to put action behind your faith?

Leave a Reply

