Ruth’s Faith Journey

Mondays this month we’ve been talking about individuals in the Bible who displayed faith.  One of the first people I thought of when I was thinking about this was the person of Ruth from the Old Testament.

Ruth’s story begins with her losing her husband, and moving with her also widowed mother-in-law from Moab, Ruth’s home, back to Bethlehem to begin a new life.  Ruth steps out in faith to work for grain for them to eat and ends up meeting the man they call the “Kinsman-Redeemer” who not only cares for them, he also ends up marrying Ruth, they have a baby together, and everyone lives happily ever after.

Ruth’s story is a great example of someone choosing to live by blind faith, trusting that it will all work out.  Ruth reinforces her decision to move with Naomi, her mother-in-law, with these words:

“Wherever you go, I will go; wherever you live, I will live. Your people will be my people, and your God will be my God. Wherever you die, I will die, and there I will be buried. May the Lord punish me severely if I allow anything but death to separate us!”

Wow!  Ruth didn’t know what the future held for her, but she knew deep down that the right decision was to move with Naomi.  Sometimes our best decisions can be the most scary, and have the greatest outcomes. Had Ruth stayed in Moab maybe she would have had a good life, but by having faith in Naomi she experienced something incredible.

What in your life is just waiting for you to have a little faith?

Leave a Reply

