Faith through Crazy Lives

Today we have a special guest post from Lena.  Lena has some great insights on faith and family to share.

Children are invincible, at least in their own minds. They believe they can do anything, as evidenced by the fact that my 3 year old daughter stood on the back of our couch and tried to jump over the seats to her beanbag across the room. They trust that they can do whatever they put their minds to and that whatever is beyond their abilities, Mama and Daddy will take care of.

Children have blind faith; they trust their parents to meet their basic needs and many of their wants. They trust their feet to take them step by step and know that their hands will catch them if they fall. If the fall produces pain, Mama and Daddy will kiss it and make it better.

Without Christ, I cannot imagine living a life with a child with what I consider to be extreme special needs. My faith in Him is what brings me from one difficult moment to the next, knowing that I am never alone. My faith in God gives me peace and strength.

Raising a child with special needs has been an absolute test of my faith. It has brought me to my knees in prayer more times than I can count and has also shown me more victories than I ever imagined. I have seen my son go from hours of raging to being able to control his anger with only quick bursts of frustration. I have seen my son go from hiding under his bed screaming and crying about not being able to go to school to now being excited about school.

“And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him,
who have been called according to his purpose.” Romans 8:28

To me, faith is…
~hitting my knees in prayer, trusting that God will be pick up the pieces and put them back together when the world around me is crashing down.
~seeing the light at the end of the tunnel and knowing that it is God’s hands waiting to hold me while I cry.
~trusting that God loves me enough to hold my hand and keep me from being burned as I walk through the fires of life.
~giving the glory to God when we come out stronger on the other side of difficulty.

Lena, thank you for the reminder that faith gives us hope in the future even when the present life gives no indication of hope.  If you’d like to connect with Lena and learn all about her (wonderful) crazy life, you can visit her on Twitter and her blog.

Leave a Reply

