Spiritual Strength

As we wrap up this month’s look on faith, we began yesterday looking at faith in life and what role faith has in life.  Today we’re taking a look at the spiritual side of faith with Psalm 18:1-3:

“I love you, Lord! You are my strength. The Lord is my Rock, my fortress, my place of safety. He is my God, the Rock I run to for protection. He is my shield; by his power I am saved. He is my hiding place high in the hills. I called to the Lord for help, and he saved me from my enemies! He is worthy of my praise!”

This is what having spiritual faith means: it means that we’ve got someone in whom we can confide, who strengthens us, who protects us, who loves us even when we’re at our lowest.  It also means we’ve got a community around us who can support us in our physical needs. Faith, even surrounded by as wonderful a community as we are, still isn’t easy!  It takes courage, love, work and time.

What should we take from this month-long look at faith?  First that faith doesn’t just happen, can’t just be erased, must be grown and works best when there’s a community around you.  Second, faith is necessary.  Faith is what makes up the very building blocks of society.  Finally, faith is messy.  Faith, by its very nature leaves room for mistakes, messes, re-dos, and improvement.

Faith isn’t something that you work on at one point and not the next, it’s a huge part of the whole journey we are on as people.  Your faith, my faith, our faith.  No matter what happens, no matter what is going on in your life, you’ve got this community that will support you in your faith journey.

Leave a Reply

