Day of Prayer

Tomorrow is National Day of Prayer here in the USA.  In preparation for the time you’ll be taking to pray, whether in a group or alone, consider Psalm 4:1

“Answer me when I call to you, O God who declares me innocent. Free me from my troubles. Have mercy on me and hear my prayer.”

Why is this Psalm of David important?  Let’s look at 4 points in the prayer:

“Answer me when I call to you”
Here David is inviting God to talk to him.  So often we’re so busy talking to God that we forget to listen.

“O God who declares me innocent”
Here David admits that he’s not perfect, but that God declares him innocent.  This means we can be freed of any expectations or judgements for who we are or what we’ve done.  All God wants is the opportunity to declare us innocent.

“Free me from my troubles”
It’s ok to ask for God’s help! He’d rather you ask for help than not speak to Him at all.

“Have mercy on me and hear my prayer.”
Humility in prayer is important.  Prayer is not us demanding things from God, but rather asking if He would show his purpose to us in what we’re going through.

I invite you to share your prayers below so we can all pray for them.

Leave a Reply

