The Good News of Freedom

“The Spirit of the Sovereign Lord is upon me, for the Lord has anointed me to bring good news to the poor.  He has sent me to comfort the brokenhearted and to proclaim that captives will be released and prisoners will be freed.”  Isaiah 61:1

I love the book of Isaiah, each time I read it I’m newly inspired by his words and heart for the things of God.  Today we’re reminded of the freedom that comes from God.  When you accept that God is an important part of your life and that He sent His son to release you from your sins you’re opening yourself up to a whole new level of freedom in life.

It begins with recognizing that you’re not perfect, but that when you do sin you can be forgiven.  It continues with knowing that God is there for you through the ups and downs.  It ends with knowing that you’ve got a future in Heaven with God.

I know that I need an encouraging word on Monday, and today’s encouragement is that you are able to be free.  You can be freed from the guilt of the past, from being held back by the choices of your past, and free to live a good life.  All you have to do is let go and let God.  It’s not always as easy to do as it is to say, trust me, I know.  But the feeling of freedom that you feel after you release all your burdens is amazing.

Today, what do you need to be freed from?  What can you ask God to help you with and be free?

Leave a Reply

