Free to…Thrive

This month we’ve been talking about freedom.  I don’t know about you, but my month hasn’t really felt very free.  It’s felt like a lack of freedom, and total confusion. But I’ve had some revelations over the past week and am feeling more confident about freedom now. Today we close out our series on “Free to…” with thoughts on what life is really about: thriving.

Personally I can’t stand living a bland, boring life.  I like knowing that I’m living with purpose and doing so much more than getting by.  I like knowing that what I do is not just about me, but helps someone else.  I like to know that tomorrow will be better than today, or that I at least have the ability to try to have a better day. But so much more than that, I need to do more than just live; I need to thrive.

I have to admit that I’m finally feeling like I need to start thriving in life, and not just surviving.  I think so many of us get caught up in surviving that we forget that life is made up of so much more than where we are.  But there comes a point in every life, some call it the “midlife crisis,” when we all realize we need something more.  Toys and games don’t do it though, what we all need is something more fulfilling.

The good news is that we all have the ability to make changes in our lives and begin living a thriving life-a life full of life, passion and fulfillment.  I started making those changes this week, what areas of your life do you need to change in order to thrive?

One thought on “Free to…Thrive

  1. yes lord you have give as a new mornday blessing ,,,Dot,,,,,,”””“Still, if you set your heart on God and reach out to him, If you scrub your hands of sin and refuse to entertain evil in your home, You’ll be able to face the world unashamed and keep a firm grip on life, guiltless and fearless. You’ll forget your troubles; they’ll be like old, faded photographs.” (Job 11:13-16 MSG)

    As long as you focus on someone you resent, that person controls you. You’re worrying about something he or she has already forgotten about.

    Long before psychology came along, Job said there are three steps for inner healing:

    1. Put your heart right. If you want to be emotionally healed from a hurt, you have to release the offender — whether you feel like it or not. Don’t try to get even. Forgive that person, then release him or her.

    2. Reach out to God. You need to invite Christ to come into your life and fill you with his forgiveness. Why? I don’t think you can manufacture enough forgiveness in your life to handle all the hurts you’re going to face, not only those of the past but those you’ll have between now and when you die.

Leave a Reply

