Looking for True Life

Lately I’ve been thinking a lot about my life.  It’s not something I really enjoy doing, in fact, I try not to think about my life any more than I have to, I’d much rather think about someone else’s life.  It’s not that I don’t like my life, I’m probably happier than most with who I am.  But lately I’ve been thinking about the impact I’m making and accepting that I’ve been feeling unfulfilled for a while now.  As I was pondering what to write for my devotional this week, I ran across this verse:

“Those who love their father or mother more than they love me are not worthy of me. And those who love their son or daughter more than they love me are not worthy of me…. Those who try to keep the life they have will lose it. But those who give up their life for me will find true life.” Matthew 10:37, 39

It got me thinking about what true life was.  Is it living like Mother Teresa, is it living like Billy Graham, is it living like the pastors who preach to mega-churches?  The answer isn’t that we’re to love God and not other people. There wouldn’t be other people unless God wanted us to learn to love them and work together.

To me, true life is learning how to work together and coexist together, while building our individual and communal relationships with God.  You can do that as a mega-church pastor, you can do that as a big time missionary, you can also do that as a plumber or business consultant.  The only way you can’t do that is if you seclude yourself in a corner of the world cut off from other people.  It’s OK to take breaks from other people, but living without them eliminates some of the depth of real life.  Personally I’d rather deal with the quirks of other people than live an unfulfilled life.

What about you?  How would you define true life?  Are you living that life?

One thought on “Looking for True Life

  1. HI JUST SITTING HERE THIS RAINLY MORNDAY…MY MORNDAY HI…..DOT..BLESSING…………………………………………..Be anxious for nothing, but in everything by prayer and supplication, with thanksgiving, let your requests be made known to God;”
    Philippians 4:6

Leave a Reply

