Getting Back on Track

This week is all about picking up the pieces of lives that have been scattered and shattered here on the east coast.  It could be easy to ignore the people hurt by the hurricane because you live in another part of the USA or the world, but I hope that you don’t.  Maybe you weren’t touched by a hurricane but you’ve got other things going on in your life that make your heart hurt. If so, I think David’s words in Psalm 138:8 will be of encouragement:

“The Lord will work out his plans for my life-for your faithful love, O Lord, endures forever. Don’t abandon me, for you made me.”

It’s easy to be overwhelmed by the bad stuff that goes on in our lives, by the people who know how to push our buttons or the devastation by that which we can’t control.  In this verse you can hear both David’s fear and his hope.  He, just like you and me, worries about being alone and without help.  But he remembers that God loves him.  David with all his faults and human indiscretions, is loved by God.

I know I’m not perfect, I’ve got lots of things that God has forgiven me for over the years, and there will be more to come.  But I have faith that even when I make a mistake, God can still get me back on track to living my purpose and fulfilling the plans He has for my life.

What about you?  Does it feel like you’ve been sidetracked from God’s plans, or abandoned? Let today be a fresh start for you and God.  He’s ready to encourage you and help you get back on track as soon as you ask.

Leave a Reply

