Delight in Today

As I was thinking about Earth Day today I thought about the world that God has created.  Genesis tells us that God made everything (natural) you see around us before He made you and me.  God made days of preparations getting the world ready for us, those that He created in His image.  How cool is that?!  If God made the world for us, or in preparation for us, what responsibility does that leave us with?

That’s the question that everyone brings up: isn’t it our responsibility to care for the earth?  After all, if there’s no earth, there’s no us.  However, I want to look at it a different way today.

Kahlil Gibran said, “Forget not that the earth delights to feel your bare feet, and the winds long to play with your hair.”  God created this world and us, but I don’t think He created it, just like He didn’t create us, with responsibility in mind.  God made what pleased Him.  Somewhere along the line, it’s turned from pleasure to problematic.

Sometimes this is the way our relationship with each other, and with God goes.  I wholeheartedly believe that we all need to get back to the pleasure of life.  I know in my relationships when I’m having fun and taking care of them as I should, I enjoy life more, and it’s not as hard to get through the tough stuff, because we have such a great foundation.  If we all enjoyed nature more and enjoyed our relationships with God more, it would be much easier, and more natural, to take care and be responsible.  It might even be fun to recycle or live sustainably.

This week I do hope you get out there and spend time loving and caring for nature, and your relationship with God too.

Leave a Reply

