Accepting Abundance

“I know how to live on almost nothing or with everything. I have learned the secret of living in every situation, whether it is with a full stomach or empty, with plenty or little. For I can do everything through Christ, who gives me strength.” Philippians 4:12-13

These verses speak about one of the hardest challenges we face throughout our lives: acceptance.  It’s very hard for us to accept the truth about someone, the truth about what we believe, the truth about ourselves and the truth about our future.  One of the hardest acts of acceptance is related to abundance and receiving what is given to us.  Whether pride gets in our way or we just refuse to accept good stuff when it comes to us, we’ve gotten bad at accepting reality when we’re approached by it.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m a big believer in hope and second chances.  I believe we all have the strength and ability to make drastic changes in our lives so we don’t need charity and we can be generous with others.  I encourage you to be able to be self sufficient, not needing others to provide for your needs.

The challenge then comes in when we do have needs and can’t meet them by ourselves.  I believe the one of the biggest blessings in this world comes from the people around us. It’s relieving, even thrilling, to know that I don’t have to know how my computer works when I turn it on in the morning, or how to fix my car if it isn’t working right, there are others who can take care of that.  But it’s up to me to accept that I need their help and ask for it when the situation arises.

Accepting who you are, where you are, what you are, and what you can and can’t change about life are challenging. It’s not easy to get past or through that pride and sufficiency to relying on others. But when you know they can be depended on and have built a network where it’s not a burden for you to rely on each other, but rather a joy, the abundance that will fill your life and theirs will be such a blessing.

Leave a Reply

