Hope and Fear

“Those who live in the shelter of the Most High will find rest in the shadow of the Almighty.  This I declare about the Lord: He alone is my refuge, my place of safety; he is my God, and I trust him.” Psalm 91:1-2

This is one of my favorite chapters in the Bible (read the whole thing here).  It’s a chapter I’ve spend hours reading, studying and considering, I’ve drawn pictures of it, have written many devotionals about it and done talks on it as well.  Somewhere during my years of high school it became one of the more important passages to me.  It always fascinates me when I read it, and today as I was considering what it means to rest in God, it came to mind.

We humans don’t make rest a high enough priority in our lives.  I know we’ve all struggled and are remembering those times, and it seems right to make sure we have those few extra overtime hour dollars in our bank accounts rather than resting.  I can’t disagree with that fear, most of us experience it at one time or another.  But when those fears creep into our minds, other fears start to roar too.  We hear again the doubts from our family about our chosen job or partner, doubts that our kids are doing well enough, doubts that we’re really as happy as we seem, doubts that we’ll never amount to much like our guidance counselors told us.

The doubts and fears roll over us like the ocean waves, relentless and stronger by the wave.  So we double down and get back to work to bury the fears.  Instead we should be talking with our friends, our partners, our pastors, whomever we trust, about the fears that we are struggling with.  We should be turning to God and dealing with our fears. We should be taking time to rest and dream big dreams. The fears may never fully go away, but the truth can replace them and burn stronger and brighter than any fear.

Leave a Reply

