Celebrating Life

As Christians we know we’re blessed to have the strong foundation of Christ to trust and promise of great things in Heaven for the faithful, but that doesn’t make us immune to what is going on in the world.  In fact, if we were immune to what went on in the world no one would ever trust us or connect with us enough for us to share the Good News with them, just like things would be completely different if Jesus didn’t come to earth as a human baby some 2000 years ago.  So the fact is that each and every one of us has to deal with what goes on in the world.

What surprised me this week as I thought about these things was a passage from Psalm 103: “Let all that I am praise the Lord; may I never forget the good things he does for me. He forgives all my sins and heals all my diseases.”  Psalm 103:2-3

As much as we may party and enjoy spending time with others in this day and age, I think we forget sometimes to really celebrate the big and little things God sends our way.  We’re so rushed, so taken over by the bad stuff, so distracted by all that is going on, that all we manage to do some (most?) days is send God some “thank you’s” and read a few verses from the Bible.  I don’t know about you, but I don’t call that living and thriving, which is exactly what I want to do.

This week I encourage you to do exactly that: celebrate.  But not just in little “thank you’s” and soft prayers, have some big celebrations and real rejoicing moments too.  Spend time each day celebrating with God.  Put on some worship music, grab a pad and paper, or just sit and be quiet and appreciate life as it finds you.  You’ll be more balanced, less stressed and be open to receiving the blessings God wants to send your way.

Leave a Reply

