Be Yourself this Christmas

“Instead of being a time of unusual behavior, Christmas is perhaps the only time in the year when people can obey their natural impulses and express their true sentiments without feeling self-conscious and, perhaps, foolish.  Christmas, in short, is about the only chance a man has to be himself.”  Francis C. Farley

Over the past year we’ve talked about many things, but for me much of this year has been about discovering who I am.  Although I don’t have a lot of answers yet, I have learned that I’m more capable than I realized.  Don’t worry, I’m not perfect yet, I’ve got lots of room for improvement.  But as I was considering who I am and my place in this world, it saddened me to discover yet again how many people just go through life without purpose or living their life.  Why do people live a lie?  I think there are several reasons why people choose not to live their life including:

fear that they won’t succeed
fear that it will be too hard to do
fear that they aren’t anyone of value when they find out their purpose
fear that they won’t be accepted for who they are

Yet at Christmas, as Farley points out, we seem to put these things aside and step into life as we could live it: together. There is a lot of giving, sharing, loving and living that’s done in the month of December, and come January we seem to pack it all back in and put it away until next December.  Which, when you think about it, is really ridiculous.  Why would you give up the opportunity to live, laugh and love with friends and family?  Why would you want to give up that warm fuzzy feeling you get when you see the joy on your kid’s face?  Why would you give up the camaraderie that seems to exist around the office during this time?  Why would you want to give up the willingness to help others who are in need?

As we get closer to Christmas with each passing day I encourage you to take time to discover who you are and consider how that person can be part of your life come December 26th.  I think you’ll discover, as I have, that life is simply a terrible thing to waste.

Leave a Reply

