What I Really Want is…

I read a great quote by Princess Diana this week: “I don’t want expensive gifts; I don’t want to be bought. I have everything I want. I just want someone to be there for me, to make me feel safe and secure.”

I agree that money can do great things for people.  It can mean the difference between life and death for some.  But I do not believe that money is the end-all, be-all of things.  The significance of someone like Princess Diana saying this is important: she may have had everything as a princess of England, but what she really wanted more than anything else in the world was someone else to love her for her.  Love in this case covers all kinds of love: friends, family and romantic (and even pets), not just romantic, because love is something we all need.  It shows up in different forms from the different people in your life, but there’s something about who we are that requires love to live and thrive.  Without it things in us shrivel and die and make us less than who we could be as people.

Money in and of itself won’t give you warm fuzzy feelings during the holidays, the kids opening and playing with you and the great presents will.  Money from your job won’t make you happy, but seeing the transformations that happen in people because of your work, or the great places you’re able to go with your family will.  Money can’t fix a house destroyed by a tornado, builders have to be hired to do that.

When we expect money to be the answer to all our problems we’re missing out on what money really is.  Money in and of itself is a tool to get us what we want. We don’t usually want money just so we have money (piles to play in and count etc.), we want money because of what it can bring or get us.

If you’re struggling with money this week I encourage you to take time to think about what it is you’re really struggling with, because there’s a good chance that money isn’t really the issue.

Leave a Reply

