It’s OK to Say NO

One of the words I enjoy using in my life is one that most people don’t like hearing: the word no.  I love saying it because when I use it it means that I’m making the decision to choose something better, something that will make me happier and more fulfilled than I would be if I said yes.  It’s not always easy to say no though, there are lots of good arguments that others present and even I can come up with as to why I should say yes and why saying no is a bad idea.  Usually it has to do with money or power or politics, which while they hold some appeal to me, they don’t usually hold enough to sway me.

But the reason I can say no to things and people is because I’ve chosen what the priorities in my life are, and I’m willing to stick to them and see them through.  I don’t think those other things are bad, they’re just usually not reason enough to get me to do something.  Don’t get me wrong, I am very well aware of the need for money in this world, I don’t anticipate there being any government financial aid still available by the time I’m a senior citizen so I’m well aware that it’s essential for me to be putting money away each month to prepare for the later years of my life.  I also know that power and connections can be good things, but I’m not the type to play games or dance around things, I like straight, honest dealings.

I also know that sometimes we’ll say no because we’re scared or don’t feel confident in ourselves and our abilities to do something.  This shouldn’t hold us back from saying yes to something we really want.  There are so many resources and tools that can help us accomplish things today that our limitations are really very few.

Each of us have to make our own decisions about what is right for us at that time.  But it’s not just our present we have to think about, we have to consider our future too.  What does your life show are your priorities, and what do you want your priorities to be?  Start saying yes and no to things that will help you get to the future you desire.

“You have to decide what your highest priorities are and have the courage – pleasantly, smilingly, nonapologetically – to say ‘no’ to other things.  And the way to do that is by having a bigger ‘yes’ burning inside.  The enemy of the ‘best’ is often the ‘good.'”  Stephen Covey

Leave a Reply

