Having Peace Now

This month we’ve been talking about peace. But there was something that I was missing out on until my partner reminded me of it this weekend.  He reminded me that we sometimes forget to treasure and respect the things that we love in our pursuit of the next step.  It works like this: you want a boyfriend/girlfriend and say that when you have one then you’ll start living better and exercising more.  However, if you wait until you may or may not get that partner, you may not get that partner because you waited to start doing what was right for your body and life.  Instead you should be approaching life and each day with the focus of doing it right for yourself instead of doing it because the means bring you to the end or because you’ve gotten what you want now you can do what you should.

The thing is that that’s not how it really seems to work.  We say that when we get the increase at work we’ll be able to spend time with our families or when we get a little older we’ll exercise more.  But the truth is that there is no day but today and tomorrow may never come.  So why are we waiting for tomorrow?

I’m not really sure so starting this week I’m going to be making some changes personally and professionally so that I’m not working so hard on the work to reach the goal but enjoying the goal and the process it takes to get there.  I already have what I want so why am I waiting to enjoy it?  I may be thinking about next steps but that shouldn’t take away from my enjoyment of what is.

“Peace cannot be kept by force; it can only be achieved by understanding.” Albert Einstein

Leave a Reply

