Today’s Friend

It’s that time of year again, when everyone goes back to school. It’s stressful for many people because they don’t know if they’ll know anyone or not.  I’ve been there, I know it can be challenging to meet new people especially if you’re quieter or an introvert.  And I also understand hesitation when there are people who aren’t friendly in the world. So I understand the hesitation and fear, really, I do.  But you know me, I like getting a new perspective on things that challenge me.  So in thinking about this back to school time and the challenges of making friends I checked out some wisdom on the subject and found this quote from the Dalai Lama:

“Old friends pass away, new friends appear. It is just like the days. An old day passes, a new day arrives. The important thing is to make it meaningful: a meaningful friend – or a meaningful day.”

Isn’t that the goal we each have deep down inside?  To live a life of meaning?  I know I do and it can be easy to get swept up in the next steps and goals of life and we can forget that we’re doing all this for a reason.  But I really like how he puts making new friends into perspective.  It doesn’t make it any easier to lose a friend or to make one, but it should reassure us that it is indeed natural to end and begin friendships.

We need to do a better job learning how to be a friend and making the most of each day.  When we don’t make our appreciation of that friend or day time after time it gets to the point that you’re not appreciating life and there is little point.  So what’s next?  Next we have to get up and live as though we’re enjoying life and thankful for what we have.  Make the most of today and celebrate the friendships you have.

Leave a Reply

