Is God Listening?

This weekend in my Spiritual Strength newsletter I shared about why we pray and how we know what to pray, which got me thinking about God hearing us. I mean there are a lot of people around the world that He has to listen to at any given time during the day or night. Does He really hear me? I know He’s God and all powerful and all knowing and everything, but let’s face it, I’m not perfect, I’ve messed up before and will again. Does He really care about me?

There’s evidence throughout the Bible of many people asking this exact same question. And over and over God says that He does listen and does care about them, and us. Why? Because He’s compassionate and loving and gracious, and most of all, because He says so. But what about my screw-ups? Does that make a difference to God? We know that God doesn’t like when we sin or screw up. He hurts when we disappoint Him or go against Him or forget about Him. But until we are made perfect again He understand that we’ll be going through this cycle.

The challenge for us is to do what we can to not make the cycle repeat and try to be more compassionate with ourselves and the people in our lives so that we don’t sin and our relationship with God stays healthy. When we’re able to coexist and work together in ways that support each other and do good for the world we’re learning how to live in a way that is honoring to God.

But back to the question, does God ignore us? Zechariah 10:6 says:

“I will strengthen Judah and save Israel; I will restore them because of my compassion. It will be as though I had never rejected them, for I am the Lord their God, who will hear their cries.”

So God will wash His hands of us for a period the time we’re rejecting Him, but because He’s compassionate He welcomes us back and continues to work with us on doing better next time. So this week if you’ve been distant or feel like you’ve been off the path take time to reconnect with God.

Leave a Reply

