A Simple Thank You

Sometimes things seem pretty complicated, sometimes they even are. I certainly work with plenty of people who like to make things as complicated as possible, when it’s just creating extra work for them or hoops for their clients or partner/spouse to jump through. Believe me, I understand about vetting clients, but is the obstacle course really necessary? Is it really necessary to make your partner do things exactly as you would do them or just get it done?

I’m a pretty simple person, I think this amazes my partner on a daily basis; yes, he tells me he knows how blessed he is. I’ve had to learn how to live simply when earlier in my life things just weren’t going my way and I had to be super flexible. Those lessons and habits that I picked up have stuck with me, and helped guide me to the career I’m in, clients I work with and guidance I offer.

Honestly I think some people end up complicating things for themselves so they don’t actually accomplish things, finish projects or have to figure out what they really want. Compilations are a great way of running up the “to do” list and not actually getting anything done. Don’t get me wrong, I understand that some things are better when they’re done in great detail or over a significant amount of time, like wine or a dish with many layers. But all too often you’ll get a really good result by doing things simply and sooner rather than later.

One of the simplest but best things we can do is to say “thank you.” These two powerful words are words that could transform an entire world if we would use them. Rather than cutting each other down word by word we could be building each other up with words of affirmation and thanks, celebrating what we’re able to accomplish together and making the world a better place.

“If the only prayer you said in your whole life was, “thank you,” that would suffice.” Meister Eckhart

Leave a Reply

