Loving our Differences

I’m truly amazed every time I look around me and see how similar yet different we all are. It amazes me that God can create each of us from a similar mold yet we’re so different. I’ve shared many times about embracing our differences and letting them be the tools that finally free the world from the struggles faces. I do believe that the only reason we have many of the problems we hear about in the news each day is because we’re not tapping into each other’s different capabilities, only our similarities along with our fear of change and hard work.

One of the challenges about being different I share about on the Family and Business blog today, about seeing beyond the label(s) that we’re given by society. We can get so wrapped up in that label that we forget that we’re more than that, and that even in that label we are powerful and capable. Just because it’s a label doesn’t mean it’s wrong or bad. But we tend to get offended when we’re given a label simply because it is a label and someone is commenting on us.

The first challenge about being different that we have to get to is accepting ourselves. If we can’t accept ourselves or choose to not accept ourselves because we don’t like the label we’ve been given or the difference we bring to the world it’s our responsibility to remove what we don’t like and create what we do like. If you don’t like being a “blonde” change your hair to brunette or red. If you don’t like being known as a “soccer mom” spend time doing other things during the day that do fulfill you. If you don’t like being known as a tech geek get involved with some sports, arts or other physical or outdoor activities.

I love me because I am who I am. I love me because I’ve got more life ahead of me to discover more about myself, more time to see how I fit into the world and more time to make a bigger contribution. I love me because I can do whatever I want with my life if I’m willing to put in the effort to make it happen. What do you love about you?

“I am what I am. I love me! And I don’t mean that egotistically – I love that God has allowed me to take whatever it was that I had and to make something out of it.”  Stevie Wonder

Leave a Reply

