A Leader Worth Following

Sunday coming up is Father’s Day in the USA, a chance to remember the fathers in our lives, much like we remembered our mothers last month. I know that too many people have bad experiences when it comes to fathers. I’ve been blessed to have a great dad as well as great father-figures in my life who have supported me and helped me learn valuable lessons, and just been supportive in general.

This past weekend I was thinking about the role and responsibility we each have, as parents, as partners, as sons, as daughters, as brothers, as sisters, as relatives, as friends, as people even, to each other and to the world we live in. You may feel like someone small and insignificant, but each and every one of us contributes something special to our world, something that we forget about when we get too wrapped up in our own little worlds.

One of the biggest challenges we have is setting a good example and making contributions that are good for others and the world. You don’t have to look any further than the sports world to understand exactly how hard it is to be a good example 24/7, in fact it’s almost impossible because we’re all humans who are imperfect and make mistakes. I know it’s hard, I’ve failed in the past too, and I’ll fail again in the future. But the feeling you get when knowing that you’re doing the right thing, that you’re setting the right example for someone else to see, and that what you’re doing will sit well on your conscience is amazing.

I encourage you to take a look at your life this week and the example you’re creating in your words, actions and thoughts. Are you becoming the leader you should be? The leader God has created you to be? We all have work to be done, but again it’s the journey that matters, a journey that shows day in and out that you’re doing the best you can.

O my son, give me your heart. May your eyes take delight in following my ways. Proverbs 23:26

Leave a Reply

