Are You All In?

Each day I am reminded of yet another reason why I’m so thankful that I’m not alone in this world. I can’t imagine how I would manage to do everything all by myself: there just aren’t enough hours in the day. My partner and I always comment when we pass mansions about the amount of cleaning that’s required to run one of those; it’s way more than I want to do on my own each week, not to mention I can’t imagine how people fill that many rooms with stuff and people, yet there are tons of homes and buildings around the world that are that large. But that’s just one example, think about the food and the home construction and the caring for kids and the job responsibilities, we would never get it all done if we weren’t part of a society.

Team sports are a great example of how teamwork does and doesn’t work. We’ve all witnessed the bad call on who’s catching the baseball or football, the rebound that didn’t go to the right teammate even though they were open, or the failure of a key point person (quarterback, goalie, pitcher) to contribute what’s necessary from them to get the win. We’ve also heard the stories about the team magic, witnessed the teams that were so in tune that anything seemed possible and the teams that had incredible stories of overcoming challenges or doing what no one predicted they could do.

It’s when people are all in, are so committed to being part of the team and doing their best so the team can be successful that the magic happens. When we’re united over a compelling goal we’re able to do things that would be imposable for those who were less organized, less passionate or less committed.

So the question becomes of the teams that you’re part of at home, at work and in society, are you contributing your heart and soul? Are you working together towards something awesome? Or are you just doing what’s necessary to get by, even if you don’t achieve the ultimate victory?

“I am a member of a team, and I rely on the team, I defer to it and sacrifice for it, because the team, not the individual, is the ultimate champion.” Mia Hamm

Leave a Reply

