The Freedom of Flexibility

Today’s lesson is one on flexibility. I learned many years ago that life doesn’t go as planned so it’s really good to have plans A, B and C for each day so that you can adjust when things don’t go as planned, or at least have alternatives to the plan so that you can do things in the interim or be aware of options in case things really get off the tracks. Don’t get me wrong, I love making plans, having schedules and having things work out as anticipated. I have a blog schedule for each month, I have a social media schedule for each week, I have a work schedule for each month, and I really try to stick to them. However, every so often things go so off tracks that it just reminds me how important it is to my success, health and happiness to be able to be flexible.

Flexibility is one of the things that make life better, because if you’re able to be flexible at work, in your relationship, with your kids and with the challenges of life you’ll be able to take advantage of more opportunities, better weather storms that come and enjoy life more. If you really want to see your life improve, rather than getting bent out of shape when things don’t go your way you’ll make an effort to be flexible and adjust as the changes come.

The lesson I’ve learned over the past few years and the last week is that even if you choose to be a flexible person it’s necessary to have some hard and fast rules, like not taking on clients I don’t feel comfortable with, at the very least talking daily with my partner, not doing anything that risks my health, and making time for something I enjoy every day.

Your life is full of choices that you have to make each day, make it a little easier on yourself by choosing to be flexible. Because you’ll no longer be tied into one course of action you’ll have the freedom to do and be more than you ever thought possible.

“The willow is my favorite tree. I grew up near one. It’s the most flexible tree in nature and nothing can break it – no wind, no elements, it can bend and withstand anything.” Pink

Leave a Reply

