Accepting Who You Are

One of the greatest challenges we face is accepting who we are. I certainly have days when I wake up and don’t want to be me, usually because of what happened the day before or something I’m dreading about today. You probably have days like that, too. I’ve been writing about the wisdom of Wayne Dyer in my newsletters this past weekend, and will for the rest of the month to honor the man that he was. What I’ve been reminded over and over is that who we are at our very essence can’t be changed, regardless of all the learning and medical miracles that we can go through.

So it’s more than just accepting who we are, it’s about finding where we fit in. I don’t fit in at a zoo or on a spaceship, but you might. It’s a life-long journey to figure out and find the places that you fit best, with the people who truly understand you and accept you for who you are, not the (fake) face you present each day from 9-5. It’s a journey that takes work and patience, but the first step is to accept who you are.

Part of that acceptance is knowing that you can become a better person than you are now. You don’t have to accept the failures, mistakes, and limitations that you struggle with, you can choose to learn, practice, try and grow until you’ve become the person who thrives in living the essence that you’re born with. This week I encourage you to take time to sit with yourself and journal or meditate on who you are and where your life is taking you and then take some time to pursue ways that you can grow and become more of the person you want to be.

“I’m very shy and awkward. I think the best thing is to embrace it. It’s about accepting who you are and what you want to become and knowing all that you’ve got to work with, whether it’s good or bad. My music was the only place I could be me for the longest time.” Hunter Hayes

Leave a Reply

