What’s Your Focus?

Today I want to talk about our focus.  Sometimes we focus in pretty specifically on something, which is a good thing if we’re trying to finish some work or spending time with our families. But if I’m really in a groove with my writing or work to have someone call or interrupt me it can really be damaging on that focus.  If you’ve got kids you’re probably familiar with the concept of starting stuff but not finishing it for a very long time.  We live in a society of constant interruptions, one that keeps rushing past in such a fashion that you can feel like you’re missing something if you’re not paying attention.  I’m pretty good about reading and checking email only 3 times per day, and I don’t spend much time on social media, unlike many people who have almost an addiction to it. The challenge is in determining what your priorities are and then sticking to them.

As I was thinking about priorities and focus this week I read Isaiah 49:16: “I drew a picture of you on my hand. You are always before my eyes.”  This verse reminded me how valuable our attentions are.  It really matters what we put our attention on and how we interpret things, also known as our perspective.  There are lots of people who have negative or glass-half-empty perspectives on life, which, religious or not, is a waste of life.  It’s one thing to be aware of how things could go wrong, it’s another to anticipate or believe that they will more likely go wrong than right in all situations.

Maybe it’s just luck that you got that perfect parking space, there was no traffic on the road, you didn’t get into that accident, your partner did something nice for you, you got a gift just because, you got everything on your shopping list and even the things you forgot to put on the list, you reconnected with that old friend, you got that discount on your morning coffee and treat, or it didn’t rain on your big event, or maybe it was all God looking out for you.

I can’t answer that, I can’t tell you what was God and what wasn’t. Sure you can assume that it’s all God because God is everywhere at all times or none of it’s God because of free will, it could be endlessly debated.  But if we choose to see it as God working in our lives it’s really reminder after reminder that He’s looking out for us and loves blessing us in a variety of ways.  This week I encourage you to look for God in your life, look for the lessons He’s trying to teach you, and thank Him for being present when you see Him.

Leave a Reply

