Overcoming Fears Part 2

On Wednesday we started talking about overcoming our fears and trying to understand where they originated as the first question to consider.

The second question to consider is does this fear hinder my life or am I not doing things that I would try if I didn’t have this fear?  If you don’t feel that your life is limited by the fears you have and aren’t restricting yourself and your dreams it’s not a fear that you have to devote a lot of time to overcoming.  But if you have dreams of traveling around the world but are afraid to because of your fear, as we discussed on Wednesday, of running into the Tasmanian Tiger, your fear is hindering your life and is something that you should consider working to overcome.

So what’s the point? The point is that there’s a lot more to life than your fears, so when you let your life be limited by them you’ll never be able to have all the experiences you want or do all that you dream about. Also, you’re a lot more than your fears, unless you’re letting the fears take you over. If fears are running your life it’s time to take back control of your life and one of the best ways to do that is to face your fears and work on overcoming them.

It doesn’t usually happen all at once, but just taking one or two steps each day towards exposing and facing your fears will help you free yourself in no time.  This weekend I encourage you to take a look at the fears in your life. Are they holding you back from truly thriving?  If so make a plan of action about how you will overcome them first by trying to understand them and then taking steps to safely face them.

“Fear is the mind-killer. Fear is the little-death that brings total obliteration. I will face my fear. I will permit it to pass over me and through me. And when it has gone past I will turn the inner eye to see its path. Where the fear has gone there will be nothing. Only I will remain.”   Frank Herbert

Leave a Reply

