Hope for the Holidays

The past week has been a challenging one. We’re still here a week later and for that very life I’m thankful. I know there are many people around the world not as blessed as I am, and probably not as blessed as you are, even with whatever challenges we’re facing, which is a great reason to be thankful. Whenever tragedies happen I’m amazed at how people around the world stand up to support those in suffering. The advances in technology have made it possible for us to help and support people in any part of the world without ever going to them. Even the simple things like changing your Facebook photo or using a hashtag can mean the world to someone suffering. Last year with the viral Ice Bucket Challenge for ALS it was so encouraging to hear people standing up for what is largely considered a silent killer; it kills both those it physically inhabits as well as the families they are connected to. But to know that even people who weren’t personally touched by ALS were willing to do the challenge and/or donate made me thankful and gave me a bit of hope that maybe someday there would be answers to the disease.

The closer we get to the holidays the harder it is to face these violent events that speak of hatred and evil and are attempts to destroy the good and potential in the world. It’s more important than ever to make sure that we tell people we love that we love them and how thankful we are for their place in our lives. It makes me want to tell my loved ones how much they mean to me and do what I can to make the world a better place. It’s almost ironic that terrible events meant to hurt and divide us spur us to be better and do more for each other.

So as we head into another weekend I encourage you to keep your hope alive. Don’t give up on the world becoming a better place, on people working together and on solutions finally presenting themselves and being put into action. There is yet the possibility of victory, a possibility that grows closer to being a reality with each decision to stand with brothers and sisters who are suffering, to share your thanks and love with those in your life and to do what will make the world a better place.

“This celebration here tells me that this work is not hopeless. I thank you for this teaching with all my heart and lift my glass to human solidarity, to the ultimate victory of knowledge, peace, good-will and understanding.” Albert Szent-Gyorgyi

Leave a Reply

