Reality Reflection: Tax Day

In just a few days once again the day arrives for the majority of Americans to tell the government about their earnings over the past year.  It’s an annoyance for some, hassle for others and annoyingly large complication for others.  I’m thankful that we live in the day of computers and great programs we can use to figure it all out and don’t have to do it by hand, but that doesn’t mean I enjoy working through it either.

We know why taxes are necessary: so that things like police, water, sewers, roads and snowplows help us live the lives we enjoy so much.  Not to mention paying the salaries of the leaders and military who serve around the world.  I believe taxes do have a purpose, but I can also agree that sometimes they don’t seem proportionate or accurate given all factors.

But when we think about our purpose and taxes I’m reminded that there isn’t always logic involved in things, nor do they always move in the direction and speed that we expect.  That’s reality.

So while I do my share of complaining and lobbying to get them lowered, I pay my taxes.  I would much rather pay taxes than be without the services and people we often take for granted.

As already mentioned I enjoy the technology we can take advantage of to do them, and even though it’s a bit of a hassle I don’t want to pay more than I have to and I appreciate knowing the factors they use in determining taxes.  To relieve the stress of this time a bit, I make it a point to do as much work as possible to prepare for them throughout the year rather than having to deal with it all at once in February/March or, heaven forbid, April.

If you’re rushing to get your taxes done this week, or even if you’ve already finished them, I encourage you to take just a minute to appreciate all that you get as part of them or because of them.  America’s a pretty great place when you think about all we’re blessed with.

Leave a Reply

