Reality Reflection: Friday the 13th

Today is Friday the 13th. Did you know it’s the only Friday the 13th in 2016? I know there are only 12 months so there’s not a really great chance of having it happen often anyway, but to just have one is pretty unique, and a good thing some people would say. Friday the 13th has to do with two things that we all consider at one point in time or another: luck and superstitions.

I can’t say I really put a lot of stock into all of them, but I have seen enough coincidences and connections in my life that I do give things like Friday the 13th, curses, planets, horoscopes and luck some degree of respect. Karma is something that in some ways I categorize in this group as well, but I believe more in Karma than in curses or superstitions.

Some people will say that life is what you make of it and the luck you have is based largely on what you’ve done in the past and a chain of events that have lead up to it. Sometimes there is no evident connection and things just seem to go wrong (which some people would say is because of something in a past life).  It’s also been shown that if you give things like luck and superstitions a lot of credit you will have plenty to attribute to it.

I do my best to be thankful for the good things and stay away from the bad. When a little luck or good karma comes my way I do my best to pass it on. The reality is that much of life is about what we do with what we’ve been handed. If you’re in a bit of bad luck you can choose to change it (unless of course you think you need punishing for something). What are your thoughts on luck and superstitions?

Leave a Reply

