One Last Christmas?

I know the holiday season is really about good tidings and great cheer, but the holidays do remind us of the people we’ve lost, and with another year ending as well we especially think about the people we’ve lost throughout the past year. So while we may not want to dwell on the loss of those people in our lives or the feelings of loss (which definitely aren’t full of holiday cheer), I think it’s a good reminder of why we should celebrate: because you never know when one day will be your last.

I don’t know about you but I don’t really want to look back on my last day as I lay on my deathbed (or after I’m dead if there is no deathbed length of time) and feel disappointed by the way I treated others, the way I lived my moments, the thoughts I had, the choices I made and the things I did. With each passing day and each person who passes on it reminds me of exactly how fragile life is, how reverently it should be treated, how much it should be valued and appreciated, and how important each and every moment is.

Now I know that if we were to spend each moment considering down to the last second exactly what we should do and what we’d regret or not, and analyzing things backwards and forwards, our life won’t be as fulfilling or appreciated as it should be. There should be moments of freedom, spontaneity and play, and moments where we feel like kids again if possible in every day. I think one of the times of the year that that happens the most is during the holidays when we bring out our treasures and memories, make a point of spending time with friends and family, and taking time to use our senses and fully experience our lives. If you knew that this was your last holiday season what would you do? Would you do something different today?

“When we fully understand the brevity of life, its fleeting joys and unavoidable pains; when we accept the facts that all men and women are approaching an inevitable doom: the consciousness of it should make us more kindly and considerate of each other. This feeling should make men and women use their best efforts to help their fellow travelers on the road, to make the path brighter and easier as we journey on. It should bring a closer kinship, a better understanding, and a deeper sympathy for the wayfarers who must live a common life and die a common death.” Clarence Darrow

Leave a Reply

