Enjoy the Summer

I’m not the type of person who likes to rush too many things.  I love the speedy internet and not waiting hours for things to cook but the older I get the more I appreciate the value of each and every day we have, especially when it comes to summer.  I love the long daylight hours, the warm nights and hot days.  I love seeing the bright blue sky and beaming sun just about every day.  I love growing fresh vegetables and herbs outside my back door.  I don’t look forward to fall because that means snow and cold weather are coming soon.

So I’m learning to appreciate taking my time, the time that it takes things to happen and the gift of each and every day we have.  Summer makes me want to live life to the fullest and appreciate all of nature around me.  Summer encourages get-togethers with family and friends, from BBQ’s to clam bakes with fun games, activities and drinks.  Summer makes me want to live because that’s what I see going on in the world around me.

But that doesn’t mean that I’m going to rush just because I’m inspired to live.  I’m still going to take my time to do things right the first time, smell the roses, pet the puppies, draw with chalk with the kids, take late night walks with my partner, watch the stars come out, read books, learn from others who know things I don’t and even take time to just sit and watch the world go by.

There’s a time and place for everything, and even if you could rush it, you really shouldn’t. There are lots of things in the here and now that would benefit from your attention.

“Time is nature’s way to keep everything from happening at once.”  John Archibald Wheeler

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.